We will no longer be supporting IE7 and below as a web browser effective June 1st 2020. Click here for more information.

Sign In

Bradford West Gwillimbury

Skip Navigation LinksBradford West Gwillimbury > Council & Committees > About Town Council

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Town ​of BWG Council 2018-2022

Impacts of CO​VID-19 on programs and services:

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Council meetings are being held electronically and livestreamed via YouTube​. The revised protocol for electronic meetings is in effect until further notice. Please use this form to request to speak before council.

The Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury Council consists of nine (9) Members of Council, all of whom are elected by the public. The Mayor and Deputy Mayor serve the residents at large, and the seven (7) Councillors each represent a ​​Ward withi​n the municipality. Click for contact information for individual Council Members.

It is the role of Council to:

  • Represent the public and consider the well-being and interests of the municipality;
  • Develop and evaluate the policies and programs of the municipality;
  • Determine which services the municipality provides;
  • Ensure that administrative policies, practices and procedures and controllership policies, practices and procedures are in place to implement the decisions of council;
  • Ensure the accountability and transparency of the operations of the municipality, including the activities of the senior management of the municipality;
  • Maintain the financial integrity of the municipality; and
  • Carry out the duties of council that are set out by various pieces of legislation.

Council Meetings

Council meetings are held on the first and third Tuesdays of every month at 7:00 p.m. with the exception to July when there are no meetings. Special meetings may also be called on 48 hours notice. Meetings take place at the Bradford West Gwillimbury Library and Cultural Centre - Zima Room located at 425 Holland Street West, unless otherwise stated.

Council Agendas are prepared and published by the Clerk's Division. Agendas and minutes can be found by selecting the link at right.

All meetings of Council and Committees of Council are open to the public, unless permitted to close in accordance with section 239 of the Municipal Act, 2001.

Appearing Before Council
A person or organization wishing to appear before Council may complete a Deputatio​n Request (see Links at right)​. Deputation requests must be submitted at least 5 days before the Council meeting. Each deputation is allotted 10 minutes of speaking time.

Alternatively, Open Forum is also available at Council meetings by signing the Open Forum register located at the back of Council chambers. There is no provision for Council discussion on Open Forum items. Full procedural rules can be found in the Procedural By-law.

Closed Meeting Investigator
Section 239.1 of the Municipal Act, 2001, allows any individual to request an investigation be undertaken to determine whether a municipality, local board or committee has complied with the Act or the Procedural By-law 2013-20, with respect to a meeting or part of a meeting which was closed to the public, and to report on the investigation.

The Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury has appointed Local Authority Services as their closed meeting investigator in partnership with the County of Simcoe.  Any questions or concerns regarding closed meetings may be directed to the Director of Corporate Services, Town Solicitor/Clerk. To request a closed meeting investigation, please complete the request form and return to the Clerk's Division of Legislative Services.

Integrity Commissioner

An Integrity Commissioner is an independent resource who reports to council and who is responsible for performing in an independent manner the functions assigned by the municipality with respect to:

  1. The application of the code of conduct (see Documents section at right) for members of council and members of local boards.
  2. The application of any procedures, rules and policies of the municipality and local boards governing the ethical behaviour of members of council and of local boards.
  3. The application of sections 5, 5.1 and 5.2 of the Municipal Conflict of Interest Act to members of council and of local boards.
  4. Requests from members of council and of local boards for advice respecting their obligations under the code of conduct applicable to the member.
  5. Requests from members of council and of local boards for advice respecting their obligations under a procedure, rule or policy of the municipality or of the local board, as the case may be, governing the ethical behaviour of members.
  6. Requests from members of council and of local boards for advice respecting their obligations under the Municipal Conflict of Interest Act.
  7. The provision of educational information to members of council, members of local boards, the municipality and the public about the municipality's codes of conduct for members of council and members of local boards and about the Municipal Conflict of Interest Act.

The Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury has appointed Principles Integrity to deliver the above services. If a member of the public wishes to submit a complaint with respect to a member contravening the Code of Conduct or the Municipal Conflict of Interest Act, please complete the Complaint Form (see document section at right) and submit it to Principles Integrity at postoffice@principlesintegrity.org

For further​ information, the Integrity Commissioner can be contacted at:

Principles Integrity
30 Haddon Street, Toronto, ON M5M 3M9
Attention: Jeffrey A. Abrams and Janice Atwood-Petkovski
Tel: 647-259-8697
Email: postoffice@principlesintegrity.org​